Home • Sexual & Gender Diversity Office   Toggle contrast mode:
 Back to all Resources

University of Toronto Students’ Union (UTSU) 

Founded in 1901, the University of Toronto Students’ Union (UTSU) is the official student government for more than 38,000 students at the University of Toronto. If you’re a full-time undergraduate student at the St. George Campus, you’re automatically a member of the UTSU. As a student government and independent not-for-profit organization, we operate autonomously from the University of Toronto administration. We strive to be a democratic, accessible, and member-driven organization, and all of our work is done with a strong commitment to equity.

Your student representatives are elected each year as executives or directors to the UTSU Board of Directors. The Executive Committee, which consists of the President and five Vice-Presidents, reports to the Board of Directors.

The UTSU works for you in many ways, but primarily through advocacy, events, and programs and services. We advocate for you by regularly lobbying the government and university, organizing public education campaigns, and supporting student-led initiatives. We organize major events for students, including Orientation, Winter Week of Welcome, Unity Ball, Pasta Night, and more. And most importantly, we offer services such as a Food Bank (offered every Friday at the UofT Multi-Faith Centre), Student Aid, an annual Tax Clinic, Clubs Funding, a Resource Bank for Clubs, and of course, the UTSU Health & Dental Plan.